Five curators from the UPLB Museum of Natural History are set to be appointed as UP Scientists, as per information from the UP Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs. In a message to the UPLB Administration, Vice-President Gisela P. Concepcion announced the names of 27 UPLB faculty who were included in the UP Scientific Productive System's roster of UP Scientists for the period CY 2014-2016.

Included in this group were some curators from the Museum's Entomological Museum, Zoological and Wildlife Museum, and Forestry and Mycological Herbaria.

To be newly appointed for the period CY 2014-2016 are the following:

  • Dr. Juan Carlos T. Gonzalez, Curator for Birds, will be appointed as UP Scientist II
  • Dr. Aimee Lynn B. Dupo, Curator for Moths and Spiders, as UP Scientist I
  • Dr. Nelson M. Pampolina, Curator for Forest Fungi, as UP Scientist I

Meanwhile, Dr. Edwino S. Fernando, Curator for Palms and other Forest Plants, has been renewed as UP Scientist I for CY 2014-2016.

MNH Director Ireneo L. Lit, Jr, Curator for Mealybugs, Leaf and Scale Insects, was promoted to UP Scientist III for CY 2014-2016.

The UP Scientific Productivity System was established by the UP Board of Regents to support the development of science and technology and to encourage and reward scientific productivity. Deserving scientists are conferred the title “UP Scientist” with a monetary award. Those awarded as UP Scientist Iwilll receive P 150,000 per annum; UP Scientist II, P200,000 per annum, while UP Scientist III awardees will receive P250,000 per annum.

The new UP Scientists will be conferred their titles on 16 December 2014 at the Executive House in UP Diliman.

Planning a visit? Locate us here